Saturday, 2024-05-18, 22:52
Welcome Guest | RSS

Main | Registration | Login

[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
  • Page 1 of 1
Forum moderator: noexit, Colors  
Forum » Solution Zone » Map Making, Your Releases & Help » Some tips to making better maps
Some tips to making better maps
noexitDate: Tuesday, 2010-01-26, 17:52 | Message # 1
[ZfH] God!! Obey his rules!
Group: [ZfH] Administrator
Awards: 14
I have written a little "guide to better mapping" tutorial so heres a list of things to keep in mind when constructing your maps. You can avoid alot of problems down the road and improve the look/fun factor with some pretty simple techniques. I hope this helps some of you getting started and makes it a little easier. I have been mapping for around 6 years now and basically am self taught, but with all the tutorials for how to do this and that I dont think there is a guide like this that I have seen so I help you gain something from it. Feel free to sticky if you find it of use.

1. Think of the theme of your map entirely from start to finish. You dont necessarily need to plan the layout in advance, but rather come up with the idea itself, what cool things you can add, how they will affect performance in your map, and how to best work it in.

2. Dont be sloppy with your brushwork and say I will go back and touch it up later, make it right the first time. Often times people tend to forget things they did, especially when verticing your walls etc in maps. That can greatly cut the cost of your map performance if you dont properly make your wall connections etc. Think optimization the entire time, dont build maps in such a way you cannot use hint brushes. Remember, if that brush does not block vis or seal the map, func_detail it, and ALWAYS do this for stairs.